Punting chaos

          I don’t do much to my photos, a bit of a crop here and there but that’s about it, usually they are taken by either putting myself in the right place at the right time, or more luckily, being in the right place at the right time.  This was a case of the latter.

          This was taken on a pootle around the short version of one of my favourites walks in Oxford, past Christchurch College (the full walk is described in the post “To the River“).  I wandered in past the Botanical Gardens, it was a lovely day and I was hoping for some photos of people playing on the river, I wasn’t disappointed.

          Three youngsters were in one of the punts, no adults, I would guess at three 14ish year olds, and they were causing chaos.

          They had their punt stuck widthways across the river and as much as they tried to turn it they were just moving back and for from one side to the other like a gate, allowing one other boat or punt to pass through the gap at their own peril.

          I guess from the bank we could see the funny side, but the other punters were becoming more and more frustrated.  There were a lot of instructions and advice shouted at the youngsters and eventually they turned the punt enough for the traffic to pass.

          P.s. You can see more punting fun in one of my later posts, “Free phone“.

3 thoughts on “Punting chaos

  1. Hi Judith,
    I take the bus into Oxford as often as I can, it has an endless supply of photo opportunities, and a lot of happy memories for me too.
    If there’s anywhere you particulary remember let me know and I’ll see if I can find it with my camera for you.

Care to comment ?

