Laxey

          For anyone who’s read my post about “Stones“, it’s only a short step to see why I would like walls too.

          This is a picture I took on our Isle of Man holiday. The sun was shining, it was a glorious day we were on holiday on an island in the middle of July … and I was underground taking a photo of a wall !

         Not just any wall mind you, this is the wall of a copper mine, the water was dripping from the ceiling and the copper colours in the stones were too much for me to resist.

          For most normal people, here’s a picture of the Laxey Wheel, the tourist attraction we had gone to see.

          The Laxey Wheel is powered by water and, in its time, was used to pump water up from the copper mines below.  Now, as a tourist attraction you can climb the staircase to the platform above the wheel and look out at the view.  The wheel still turns and as you look out across the landscape the wheel moves outwards from underneath your feet giving the impression that you are going to tumble down with it.

         This is the view from the top …

           More from before : pictures and posts about our holiday in the “Isle of Man” in July 2009.

9 thoughts on “Laxey

  1. Well, I like the normal people views, but I must not be overly normal as I really like the wall. The color, the texture, and the lighting are all wonderful. 🙂

  2. You’re not alone in your liking of attractive walls! I like the colours and uneveness of this wall – beautiful. Actually, although I enjoy open views and distant horizons, I would have preferred to have been photographing the wall rather than the scene from the top of the wheel; I have terrible vertigo and would have probably tumbled over the edge…… (I like your play on words in your first sentence by the way 🙂 )

    • I’m glad the wall has been enjoyed, I loved the colours the water made over the stones.
      My husband laughs at me regularly for taking “alternative” pictures.
      Thanks.

  3. Pingback: The alternative view « Photographic Memories

Care to comment ?

