Super Market

          The actual supermarkets in Brugge were surprisingly bad but when Saturday arrived and we went to the actual market the reason why was obvious.  The market sold everything you could possibly need – at a fraction of the price of the supermarkets.

          Two of the stalls caught most of my camera’s eye, the flower stall …

2011-07. Brugge flower stall.

          Where I couldn’t resist a picture of the sunflowers …

2011-07. Brugge sunflowers.

          And I spent ages at the next stall …

2011-07. Brugge market hens.

          You don’t need much of an imagination to see why, boxes and crates of tiny furry friends, most open-topped for you to touch and feel.

          And the freshest eggs you could imagine, taken straight from underneath the chickens and into your egg box to take home …

2011-07. Brugge market eggs.

          We had a good hour or so before the unwelcome forecasted weather arrived.  The wind picked up and the rain came down so we headed back to the holiday apartment for lunch and brollies before we set out to scour the little shops for pressies to take back home.

2011-07. Brugge market.

          I have a good few more pictures from the animal stall but I’ll save them for when the weather turns wet and windy again here and we all need a little more help to smile 🙂

           More from before: pictures from my holiday in “Brugge” in July 2011.

8 thoughts on “Super Market

    • Ha ha, yes socks 🙂
      When shopping for clothes, I know exacly what I like and will usually go without and wait until I find it. I found the perfect socks while away so I bought them 😀

  1. Beautiful photos. Interesting that the supermarkets are inferior to the market. I saw a Nicolas Crane programme on Beeb2 a couple of nights ago – called ‘Town’ I think. He featured a market in Ludlow which looked very impressive and which attracted lots of people from within the town and outside.

    • It was a large market with quality and quantity. I suppose local produce is cheaper than importing packaged products so the market can keep it’s prices down. If the customers are happy they’re going to keep comming back 🙂

    • Ha ha no, I bought a lacey scarf for my youngest daughter, a couple of brioche rolls with sticky apple bases for breakfast and a tin loaf of bread to take back to the apartment for dinner time 🙂

Care to comment ?

