Canal Walk

          The Oxford Canal Walk goes from Oxford right through to Coventry but we caught the bus to Kidlington and started our walk (via Kidlington Costa Coffee) at the bridge on Yarnton Road.  The first part of the of this stage was very quiet ad peaceful and would have probably been a lot more photogenic if we’d managed to walk it a month or two earlier. Although, that said, we did meet a few canal residents who were very pleased to see us on the empty tow path.

1-canal-residents          I haven’t done this walk before but I have seen the Oxford end so we just set off in the Oxford direction with the plan to keep going until I recognised where I was.  Only one part was a bit dodgy and it was (thankfully) signposted.

6-signpost          We followed the signpost over the bridge to Oxford and found the route to become a little more populated.  The barges here weren’t what you’d call picturesque, they were mostly long-term residences, one even had a floating shed attached but these homes had overflowed onto the bank and the tow-path which raised a few smiles.

12-armchair          As we neared Oxford some of the gardens backed right down onto the canal, I snapped a couple as we passed so they’ll turn up in later posts but here are a couple more relaxing residents.

20-newspaper          Above, enjoying a relaxing Sunday newspaper, and below, enjoying more than a couple of beers.

21-sunday-beers1          As we neared the end of our walk we came across a couple of prettier barges and this being a walk into Oxford, I couldn’t possible leave you without a picture of a pushbike …

23-flower-barge

26-pushbike

          Lastly for today, this plaque marks the start of the Oxford end of the Oxford Canal, I’m guessing there’s one at the other end in Coventry too. 

27-1790-1990          If anyone fancies following us, this little bit of the Canal walk took us about two and a half hours.  I could have taken a lot longer and come back with a lot more photos but witout the camera I recon about 2 hours should do it.

           More from before: Various visits to, and from, “Kidlington“.

16 thoughts on “Canal Walk

  1. Beautiful photos, Hallysann! I especially like the wicker chair, the swans and the canal boats. Thanks for taking me along on your stroll.

  2. Lovely images of what looks like a really interesting walk – and a nice long one. I can’t choose a favourite image as I like them all!

    I’ve been thinking recently about going on a canal boat holiday. Have you ever tried it?

    • Thanks,
      I’ve never been on a canal holiday but both my other half and my daughter have been on separate ones. Hubby says the weather makes or breaks the holiday and my daughter says you have to make sure you’re in good company. 😀

    • Ha ha, I knew you’d like this one. 🙂
      I’ve got some locks and pretty bridges for another post, and of course, the gardens I mentioned earlier. It might be next weekend before I get a chance to do a longer post but I’ll post them as soon as I get chance.

  3. I love this walk, but I have never been up through Kidlington. I love when you get down near Summertown in Oxford and the path goes onto a small, narrow, island and there is water on both sides. Lovely pictures too! I love the painting on the side of the canal.

    • Hubby walked past with his head in his hands for this picture, we saw the two men and their table full of beer cans and I shouted to ask if I could take a their photo. They lifted the painting from the other side of the fence and stood still to pose for me. 🙂

    • My other half said that’s the kind of Sunday afternoon he would like to have so I clicked the camera quickly so as not to disturb the peace and quiet. The dog underneath the chair had just finished barking at another walker with a dog and was watching us warily as we walked by. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Canal route | Photographic Memories

  5. Pingback: Bridge 109 | Photographic Memories

Care to comment ?

