Alternate power

          Here’s another view of Pleasley Colliery taken on a spring day last April when I took advantage of a trip Hubby had to make to the area. The Colliery is no longer a working colliery, it’s being turned into a museum and the area around it is being made into a Nature reserve.

          I walked around the nature reserve, which was very nice in the spring sunshine, I followed a number of paths around some small lakes and ended up on a hill on the other side of the pit head.

          After I’d taken this picture I put the camera away and headed back down towards the town but on the way down the hill I spotted something through the wheel which made me stop and reverse.

          Can you see the wind turbines in the background ?

6 thoughts on “Alternate power

    • Thanks, the colliery is the main reason I joined Hubby on the trip, I checked the area out on the map to see what was there and decided it would be a challenge to make the old industry into a pretty picture. I’ve added a link to the first time I posted it on here to the word “colliery” at the top.

  1. Hello, Hallysann! Yes, yes! I can see the wind turbines in the background! Very cool juxtaposition of old against new.

    In fact, this lovely post is a perfect example of why I’m very pleased to award you the Versatile Blogger Award.

    I’m not sure what the award means, exactly, but it seemed like a fitting way to recognize folks like you who make the Internet a better place.

    To learn more, visit me at http://hmunro.wordpress.com/2011/10/08/the-versatile-blogger-award/ (There’s no need to follow the instructions for “claiming” your award, though; the honor is yours regardless.)

    Thanks for your friendship, and keep up the great writing.

    Cheers!

    • Thank you, I’m honoured indeed, I’ve received nominations from three different directions now, I’ve been thinking of how to gracefully accept. I’ll work something out soon,
      Thanks again.
      Glad you like my blog. 😀

Care to comment ?