The Versatile Blogger

versatilebloggeraward

          I’ve recently been given The Versatile Blogger award by four different people, I’ve given a lot of thought to how to reply to this and eventually decided that the best reply was THANK YOU 🙂

          The rules of the award are pretty simple …  Thank the person (or persons) who nominated you, tell the blogging world seven things about yourself that they don’t know, and then nominate 15 other versatile bloggers for the award.

– – – – – – – – – – –

          So firstly, let me thank “Rose Ribbon“, “I choose how to spend the rest of my life“, “Scene Scope” and “Heather blog” for this award. I’ve never been very good at accepting compliments but I’m very pleased to be accepting this one.

– – – – – – – – – – –

          Secondly, seven things about myself ? That needs a bit more thought.  If you read my blogs regularly you will have been able to glean quite a lot about me.  I made a decision when I started blogging to remain anonymous so that I could write from inside, I could just be me and no one would know who I am.

          1, I try hard to be happy, I don’t always achieve it but my Nana was a great believer in Pollyanna and I try to follow her advice and no matter what happens, always find something to be glad about.

          2, I’m a very mousey person, easily intimidated I avoid conflict as much as possible.  My outlook on life is that if I’m nice to people then mostly they’re nice to me too.  (my eldest daughter sums it up pretty well … most people won’t kick a puppy)

          3, I’ve been researching my family tree on and off since I started it at the age of about 11 for a school project.  I’ve gone back as far as 1600 with my paternal line (with a little help from my tree-friends, online and off).

          4, I’m a mum-person, I don’t mean just to my daughters, I’ve been a mum-person for as long as I can remember, always mothering someone. I guess I just need to be needed.

          5, I’m pretty good with my hands, making and fixing things. I take things apart just to see how they work so that I can fix them when they’re broken and I love flat-packed furniture. I’m never happier than if I’m swinging a hammer or wielding a screwdriver.

          6, I don’t “do” reading, I find it hard work, probably because in comparing my reading age to the levels the girls achieved as they grew up, mine didn’t advance much further than that of a thirteen-year-old.  There is dyslexia in the family, but I don’t like or need a label and I’ve faked my way through this far in life so there’s no reason why I can’t do it for the rest of the way too.

          7, I plod. Not just when I’m walking, I plod through life too, I go at a nice steady pace with no sudden movements in strange directions, just one foot in front of the other tackling whatever turns up as it arrives.  I’m pacing myself because I am planning to plod on for a very long time to come.

– – – – – – – – – – –

          Lastly, choosing fifteen of my blogging friends to pass the award onto is going to be almost impossible.  They each, in their own way, give me and others pleasure, inspiration, encouragement, advice, entertainment … the list could go on and on.

          Instead, I’m going to follow on from “I choose how to spend the rest of my life” and ask you to look at every last one of the friends on my bloglist.  I nominate each and every one for the award and I hope your visit to their blogs gives you as much pleasure as it does me.

18 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger

  1. Well done with all your awards Hallysann – very well deserved! I’ve loved reading about your ‘7 things about me’ – really warm and open responses. There are things we have in common such as avoiding conflict and plodding through life! I really dislike bad feeling and do try to be optimistic 🙂

    Many thanks for your nod towards my blog via your blogroll 🙂 I really appreciate it.

  2. Thanks for the pingback.
    I do enjoy reading your posts as you are no doubt aware, even if I don’t respond to every one.
    I think the best thing about these awards is that we learn something about each other. I am not good with my hands and flat packs send me into a spin. One of the things I mean to write about one day, is my adventures with a flat pack. 🙂

    • Thank you very much … and right back at you because I nominated you for the versatile blogger award too via my blogroll. 😀
      Looking forward to your acceptance speech should you choose to accept. 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing more of yourself with us…
    Thanks for still having my blog on your roll…
    Thanks for visiting my blog regularly… and for commenting often!
    Thanks for supplying inspiration on more than one occasion… so-much-so that coming Tuesday’s post is partly due to your inputs
    Thanks for sharing your experiences… do more canal posts for me please… I want to still do a link to The IWAI Forum when you do more on the Oxford Canal…
    …and last but not least… congrats on your award! 😉

Care to comment ?

