The alternative view

          If you’ve been following me for a while you’ll know about my liking for the “alternative view” very often where people have stood with their back against a wall to photograph the view, I’ve been facing in the opposite direction. 

          In “Stones” in Weymouth my camera was picking out a pebble in the sand (albeit a carefully placed one) instead of the crashing waves.  Again in “Laxey” on the Isle of Man, the view from the top of the wheel was breathtaking, but my favourite picture was that of the wet copper coloured walls in the mine below.

          After “Going up” Snowdon via the “Pyg track“, the picture which sticks in my mind is that of a wall near the bottom when we were “Comming down” via the Llanberis path.  It amazes me how simple they look to build, and how much work must go into them to make them look so simple.

          Since the weather here today is depressing I thought I’d dig around in the files again for today and a few more alternative views raised a couple of smiles …

          This one from Douglas in the Isle of Man was just around the corner from out B&B so we passed it most mornings on the way out …

          On the Snowdon trip, Hubby laughed as I turned away from a view hundreds of people had looked at before me to photograph the tiny heather flowers (and one little blue one spotted later in the photo), incidentally the only flowers I’d seen on Snowdon all day …

          On a trip to Llanberis we took a walk around one of the lakes because the weather wasn’t good enough to try Snowdon.  I took this picture of a slate wall and used it as my desktop picture for ages.  Slate is one of my favourites stones, I still carry one of the pieces I picked up on this walk in my coat pocket for “worrying”.

          And Portland Stone is famous throughout the world, I just liked the colour of this whitish grey stone wall and the way it was apparently thrown together …

8 thoughts on “The alternative view

    • Thanks, the passageway behind the gate was part of a little garden area with a commemorative statue in the middle. I don’t remember what the statue was of, I was attracted to the gateway. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Watching and waiting | Photographic Memories

Care to comment ?

