Bleinham Palace

          Back in April of last year I visited Woodstock with a friend and we dropped into Bleinham Palace.  Here are a few of the pictures I took of the grounds on that visit.

          We snuk in through a little back gate used by the locals and walked the paths up past the house and out of another side entrance at the other end of Woodstock.  My “guide” knew exactly which way to go and so it was a very successful mornings walking, unlike the first time I visited.

          The first time we went, it was just Hubby and I, we dropped the girls off at school and headed off with scribbled directions on a scrap of paper.  Woodstock was quite easy to find, as was the small back entrance marked on my scrap of paper.  Once inside the gate we set off on our circular walk on a lovely sunny day.  We found the house, along with some other attractions, a cafe and, if I remember rightly a butterfly house, but then … we got lost.

          Somehow I think we missed a left turn to take us back to the little back gate where the car was waiting for us outside and we managed to walk the full length of the grounds, past the Column of Victory, right down to the huge main gates.

          We eventually found what looked like the groundsman’s house and were pointed in the right direction to find our way back to the car, very hungry and thirsty.  We cut it a bit fine but made it back home just in time to pick up the girls from school.

           More from before : a wander around “Woodstock” and Blenheim Palace in April 2011.

6 thoughts on “Bleinham Palace

    • Thanks, it is really pretty and very relaxing there. The village of Woodstock outside is well worth a visit too, make sure you leave enough time to drop into one of the old hotels for a coffee or a cream tea. 🙂

  1. I think I went there once – many years ago – but I’m not sure. I wonder whether they had a garden show and that’s why I went. Don’t know!

    By the way, the National Trust have another of their offers coming up: a 2 for 1 voucher in this Saturday’s Telegraph. Not such a good deal as the free entry but I might make a return visit to Mottisfont in Hampshire.

    • Thanks, I have trouble getting to the Nation Trust places, they’re mostly off the bus routes and it’s not always easy to rope someone in with a car, next time maybe. 🙂

Care to comment ?

