Busted

I’ve been trying to build up the confidence to do some street photography for ages, I’ve achieved a little here and a little there, but they’re mostly out of focus because I snap away too quickly in fear of being busted.

          I’ve just read Heatherblog again “I’m an awful street photographer” and will follow some of her advice to see if I can improve, and enjoy, my street photography a little more.

          Here’s a lady peacefully reading her newspaper while waiting for the train in Banbury the other day …

2012-06-newspaper

          Ooops ! …

2012-06-newspaper-busted

          A mother and son on the same platform …

2012-06-waiting

          Busted again …

2012-06-waiting-and-watching

          Then I wrapped my camera up in my scarf with just the lens poking out and took this one …

2012-06-farewells

          I felt a bit like a spy stealing their private moment but they didn’t seem to notice.

          More from before:  Various visits to “Banbury“.

20 thoughts on “Busted

  1. You are so right in observing that sometimes taking a photo can feel a little bit like stealing, especially if it’s a private moment. But you’ll soon get over your initial shyness and you’ll probably find that if you act like taking photos is no big deal, most of the people around you will respond in kind. By the way, thanks for linking to HeatherBlog! 🙂

    • Thanks, I think my main problem is confidence so I guess practice is the answer. I’m off to a wedding this weekend, with permission to take as many people photos as I like so practice I will. 🙂

      As for the link, the blog has given me another push in the right direction so you’re very very welcome. 🙂

    • Thanks, I thought they were saying goodbyes at first, but then noticed both had travel bags.
      And with my camera wrapped up in my scarf I took more time to focus and shoot so there’s the confidence thingy cropping up again. 🙂

  2. You are brave! I drove to Atlantic City one morning to try some street photography, got intimidated, and drove home! That was my first and only street photography experience!

    • Definately not brave … my first go at street photography was in the centre of Doncaster where I was asked to delete my photos and leave the shopping centre ! I went back to the hotel and hid for a good hour or two before I ventured out again. 🙂

    • It’s a difficult one that, I used to feel the same but looking at other people’s street photography and seeing it as art and not intrusion has changed my mind a bit. 🙂

  3. I’d love to ‘steal’ street pics too… but, will someone grab my camera and remove the ‘film’ as they do in the movies?
    I’ve often wondered how legal it is to snap away without getting concent…

    • I don’t remember which blog buddie it was, but one of them said as long as I’m on public property, I can take any photo I want and it’s mine, if someone asks me to stop its polite to stop, and if they have to ask me three times, it’s harrassment. But other than that its just how brave you are. 🙂

    • Thanks, Courage isn’t a strong point of mine but I’ve just spent a weekend at a music festival and had a wonderful time with my camera, lots of people pictures to follow soon. 🙂

  4. Hi Sallyann! I keep away from street photography because I find that I just don’t enjoy the stress of surreptitiously taking pictures of people. I could always ask permission of course – but the product would then most probably be posed to a greater or lesser extent.

    I read somewhere that one technique is to stand / sit still when, after a time, people will cease noticing you – but I don’t know if this works! Adrian

  5. I wish I had the courage to try street photography, but I don’t think it’s likely to happen. The best I can do is capture street performers who seem to be expecting it. (I end up paying for it too because it doesn’t seem right to take photos and not contribute a little something since that’s why they’re performing.) I also don’t like the idea of someone surreptitiously taking a photo of me so it doesn’t seem right to do unto others what I don’t want done unto me. On the other hand, street photographers capture some pretty interesting stuff. As you did, especially that last shot. 🙂

    • Thanks, I’ve found its more a case of changing how I think about street photography than finding the courage. There are cameras and people using them everywhere now, some big fancy ones, some little ones like mine, but almost everyone has one on their phone. Everyone is so used to “big brother” watching them that they wouldn’t do anything in a public place that they wouldn’t want “little sister” to see.
      Having said that though, and practiced a bit, I’m not so comfortable at catching little personal moments yet so I think I’ll be sticking to occasions and events for my street photographing for the time being. 🙂

Care to comment ?

