Coming up

          The world moves too fast for me and I really struggle to keep up, so the way I look at it, I have two options, either I can hang on for dear life to the roundabout which is spinning out of control, just about holding on with the tips of my fingers while my feet are flying outwards with an ever-increasing force to pull me into oblivion, or, I can let the world carry on without me, I can sit on the centre pole and trust to gravity not to let me slip off.

          Unfortunately for Hubby he’s my gravity, which means at times he has to hold on tightly to the roundabout with me tied to his bootlaces ! (for which I’m forever grateful, but in no way can you quote me on this).

          We all have our ups and downs, or downs and downs, but whether is was the recent rains which pulled me so far down, or the sunshine in Nice which picked me back up again, or the little round white smarties I’ve been swallowing each morning before breakfast … who cares … the point is I’m on the way up again, and it’s a good feeling.

           More from before : a dip into the archives for more “Flora, Fauna and Merryweather“.

14 thoughts on “Coming up

  1. Sallyann – good to hear from you, and a very nice picture too!

    I’m very sorry to hear you’ve been down, really I am >>> and extremely glad to know you’re back on the up again! I feel for you and know how these things can be – I’m on the little white smarties too.

    And I know just what you mean about the world moving too fast. My view? Well I’m not at all sure that trying to keep up with it is a worthwhile thing to do. As I get older I’m finding that I increasingly get a sense for what its worth my spending time and effort on – and “keeping up” is definitely not in there. I would certainly like to retire to pursue these feelings further.

    I write on Twitter, and the tweets appear top right on my WordPress blog. At the center there on my blog now is “What do I want in life? Well, one thing is to retire, to have the time to enjoy the soft morning rain”, and I think this sums up many of my feelings.

    Hope you continue to feel better! Adrian

Care to comment ?

