Middle England

          Middle England, and the Shires, are full of little chocolate box villages, Hubby and I have a week off work together and no big trip away planned so a few day trips have been arranged instead.

          There are literally hundreds of tiny little chocolate box pictures almost on our doorstep, unfortunately most are slightly too far to walk to and are not easily accessible by public transport.  Luckily Hubby seems quite happy to drive me around to find them, the biggest problem is getting a day off together with the weather to go with it.

          Aynho is one such chocolate box village, the sun was a little too bright for perfect tin-lid photos, but with a little help from the Photoshop contrast settings you can still get some idea of how beautiful the place is.

           More from before: a daytrip to “Aynho” in Novenber 2012.

4 thoughts on “Middle England

    • I have heard they’re very high maintainence, but I’m glad some people are still willing to do it. 🙂
      Lots of the thatched rooves we saw in Aynho had a wire mesh over them, I wonder if this helps them to last longer between fixings.

  1. Oooh! I’d love to visit Aynho. It looks like such a beautiful place with a lot of character. (I tried to talk my husband into putting a thatched roof on our house, but he’s right. It wouldn’t go well with the rest of the house. Too modern, I suppose.)

    • Ha ha, don’t you just hate it when husbands are right. 🙂
      I tried to talk mine into letting me put one of the flower walls I like so much around the front garden but he was having none of it, I guess our house is just too modern for the wall. 😦

Care to comment ?

