Artist’s impression

          This is an artist’s impression of a kitchen … the artist is Middle Daughter, and the kitchen was mine.

          The picture was part of Middle Daughter’s G.C.S.E Art coursework.  It has a sort of 3D look to it, being made of a sort of foamboard which raises the foreground out of the picture.  As with all perfectionists, she looks at the picture now with a frown, picking out the mistakes to learn from, but as for me … I smile into it, drawing on another fading memory.

kitchen-picture          I say was my kitchen, because the kitchen is unrecognisable today for what it was then.  Middle Daughter was very kind and used an enormous amount of artistic licence when it came to how tidy and un-cluttered it looks and also a lot of imagination when it came to the decorating, but from this picture you can see the position of the general kitchen units and appliances at the one end of the room.

          What the picture doesn’t show you is that the kitchen was part of a kitchen/dining room, where the original kitchen wall had been knocked away and the kitchen built into the far end while the other end was a poor excuse for a dining area where a table and chairs were squashed into the space between the washing machine and freezer, sticking out just far enough to be in the way of anyone walking in from the back garden.

          One mad day, far too long ago, I had the notion that I would move the kitchen back to the end where it had originally been, and create a cosy sitting and eating area at the other end.

          The new kitchen is nearing completion, I’ve just spent the whole of my week off from work polyfillering, papering, painting and just finishing off in general.  (I’ll be glad to get back to work for a rest).

          I’ll be putting the last finishing touches to the kitchen over the next few weekends so posts of the how’s and why’s will filter though a bit at a time … partly to remind me of what a huge task I’ve actually achieved, and partly to put me off ever thinking of doing it again.

          More from before : Happenings in “my kitchen“.

6 thoughts on “Artist’s impression

    • Like it, amusement is a pretty good description. I love to take things apart and put them back together again, just for the fun of it so if you look at it that way, my house is the biggest toy I’ve ever had. 😀

    • I’ve been looking for before and after photos and the before ones are a bit thin on the ground, add this to the fact that I’m a sucker for straight lines and geometric designs, and this is perfect.

      🙂 As for the work, sometimes I have to admit it’s been a lot of work and very often I’ve thought I’ve bitten off far more than I can chew, but I’ve enjoyed most of it and it’s been a lot of fun too. 😀

  1. Pingback: Sticky-back-plastic | Photographic Memories

  2. Pingback: Kitchen sink | Photographic Memories

Care to comment ?

