Banana loaf cake

          This isn’t my usual banana cake recipe, it was passed onto me by a friend and although my other recipe gives a wonderfully light spongy result, I was enticed by the idea of throwing everything into the bowl and whizzing it for just two minutes with the electric mixer.

          I made one a couple of weekends ago for a coffee and cake afternoon.  I had intended to take a photo for the blog then, but didn’t cut the cake before anyone arrived and by the time they were gone … so was the cake.

          This is the second banana cake I’ve made to this recipe and since I’ve had no visitors during the week I’ve had to attempt to eat it all myself.  Failing dismally, I’m taking the remaining three slices to Mum-in-law’s for “Friday Morning” breakfast.  I’m sure she’ll help me to finish it off.

2013-05. Banana loaf cake.

100g (4oz) butter, softened
175g (6oz) caster sugar
2 eggs
2 ripe bananas, mashed
225g (8oz) self-raising flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoons milk

Preheat oven to 180 °C / 350 °F / Gas 4.

          Measure all ingredients into a mixing bowl, beat well with an electric mixer for about two minutes, spoon the mixture into a lined 2lb loaf tin and bake for about 1 hour until golden brown.  Leave the cake in the tin for a few minutes before turning onto a wire rack to cool completely.

          More from before : “Cakes and Biscuits“.

6 thoughts on “Banana loaf cake

  1. I’ve just made this cake again only this time I only had one banana so I halved the other ingredients and cooked it in a 1lb loaf tin, I also added cinnamon to the mixture …. MMMMMmmmm ! 😀

Care to comment ?

