Lemon cheese

          As I spread some lemon curd on top of the cream cheese on my piece of toast yesterday evening I smiled in anticipation of the taste.

          I’d asked Hubby to buy me some jam from the corner shop and rattled off a list for him to choose from; bramble jelly, strawberry jam, lemon curd, shredless marmalade, apricot jam …  he came back with a jar of lemon curd.

          Not just any old lemon curd though, the real thing … Gales lemon curd.

          I usually buy own brand jams, not actually because of the price, but because I prefer slightly less taste and fewer bits but lemon curd, now that’s a different matter all together.  I’ll settle for own brand, but there’s only one lemon curd which could beat the taste of Gales and that was a home-made version made by Gran.  (actually she was Hubby’s Gran, but that’s just a technicality).

2003-05. Gran.

          I remember Gran standing over the stove stirring a huge pot with the wonderful citrusy scent wafting out and filling the kitchen.

          I’ll share the recipe for “Lemon cheese” in my online recipe book “Cakes and more” for anyone interested in trying it for themselves, I did make it myself a couple of times, a few different varieties of citrus fruits but none quite lived up to the original so I eventually settled for the shop bought one and savoured the memory instead.

          Lemon curd, or lemon cheese ?  “Up north” where Gran lived they called it lemon cheese which to me was strange at first but they’re both one and the same, a wonderful sweet lemon concoction to spread on toast, bagel etc and enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Lemon cheese

    • I do have a very sweet tooth. 🙂
      And as for Gran’s recipe, some of the best cake recipes I’ve got have been handed down through the generations and tried and tested so many times before me.
      😀

Care to comment ?

