Sax in the city

2013-10. Sax in the city.

          There we were in Paris, metro-hopping from one tourist attraction to another to play with the camera when the beautiful sound of the saxophone stopped me dead in my tracks.

          Hubby was doing the navigating, we’d just been to Trocadéro, the best viewing platform for the Eiffel Tower, and were on our way to the Sacré-Cœur.  I’ve a feeling we went to the Pigalle metro stop, but I’m not sure.  Either way, the two metro lines at Trocadéro don’t go anywhere near the Sacré-Cœur so somewhere along the line we had to change and as the doors opened onto the stop I heard the saxophone.  This is one instrument which to my ears makes truly beautiful music.  I couldn’t see the music maker immediately, my view was blocked by our train as well as the one on the opposite platform but as they rumbled away in their opposite directions they parted like curtains to reveal the stage on the opposite platform, and of course, I needed a photo.

          Two trains on either side later I’d collected a few snaps (trouble with the flash settings delayed out departure for as long as it possibly could).  My saxophone player  spotted me with the camera and obviously noticed I’d delayed my changeover to take a better photo as he smiled when next the trains parted.  The end of a film came into my mind as I waited for the trains to pull out of my way, have you seen Entrapment with Sean Connery and Catherine Zeta-Jones ?  Remember the scene at the end where they’re on opposite platforms having a conversation between trains ?

          Hubby was very patient but I couldn’t delay any longer and eventually climbed onto the next train.  From my spot in the window I waved as the train pulled off and still playing with his right hand, my saxophone player raised his left and waved back.

          We hopped on and off the metro often during our four days in Paris and every time I heard the saxophone being played I went in search of my saxophone player, each time I was disappointed, the music was probably just as good, but the memory inside my head sounded much better.  It’s probably for the best that I didn’t find him, I think dropping a few coins into his music case would have spoiled the memory of the music, the smile and the wave.  Better to remember the music as it was.

          In no time at all I’m sure I’ll forget and instead just remember the end of the film with Sean Connery in a deer-stalker hat heading off into the “sunset” with Catherine Zeta-Jones … to the accompaniment of saxophone music.

           More from before: “Paris” … and not just in the springtime.

2 thoughts on “Sax in the city

  1. What a great memory to add to your store. Thanks for sharing this I am currently listening to Chris Botti and while I love the sax I also love the sound of Botti playing the trumpet.

Care to comment ?

