Coffee banana cake

After a conversation where a friend said she was off to have a coffee and a banana, I wondered what banana cake would taste like with coffee in it. Care to give it a go and let me know what you think ?

Cakes and more

          A different twist on a previous recipe.

****

2013-11. Coffee banana cake.

2lb loaf tin

OVEN TEMPERATURE :    Gas 4, 180 c, 350 f.

COOKING TIME :   1 hours, 15 mins

INGREDIENTS

100g (4oz) butter, softened.

175g (6oz) castor sugar.

2 ripe bananas, mashed.

2 eggs.

225g (8oz) S.R. flour.

1 tsp baking powder.

12 tblsp milk.

1tblsp instant coffee granules.

 

METHOD

Measure all ingredients into a mixing bowl and beat well until smooth, leave to stand for about a minute for the coffee granules to disperse slightly and mix again.

Spoon the mixture into a 2lb loaf tin and sprinkle a few more coffee granules on the top for effect.

Bake for a little over an hour until a testing skewer comes out clean.

Leave to cool in the tin for a couple of minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool.

 

View original post

2 thoughts on “Coffee banana cake

  1. Well you know you’re always going to get to me with food – it looks absolutely gorgeous! Does it taste good with strawberry jam spread on it – sorry, but that’s me ….. 🙂 ….

    • You’re right, strawberry jam would have improved it. I didn’t take into account that I take two sugars (sweeteners) in my coffee so the coffee taste took the edge off of the sweetness of the banana cake.
      I made a plain banana cake last weekend and prefered that one. 🙂
      I’m going to put a branloaf to soak when I get home in the morning, ready to cook when I wake up. 😀

Care to comment ?

