Pink caramel

          I’ve been busy …

          After making two baby blankets …

2011-10. Baby blanket.

          Both for Great Nieces, as you can see by the colours.

2013-03. Baby blanket.

          I planned to make myself a new throw for the back of the settee in the autumn colours I hope to decorate the room in.  Needless to say, as usual the mice and men had other ideas and I ended up making Christmas presents first.  I’ve completed two more throws, one for Middle Daughter which I forgot to catch with the camera before I gave it away so there will be photos to show, but not just yet, and one for Mum-in-Law with rose-pink and caramel squares on a cream background to match her decoration.

2013-12. Cream throw crumpled.

2013-12. Cream throw & tree.

          I still have one to finish for Youngest Daughter for March, and I’ll be helping Eldest Daughter to make herself a knitted one.  As for mine … I will get there before next winter, but don’t hold your breath just yet.

           More from before: A little peek further into the world that I’ve “Created“.

16 thoughts on “Pink caramel

  1. These are beautiful! Are they crocheted? I’ve been trying to learn how to knit, but maybe I should go back to crocheting. At least I’d know what I’m doing. Sort of.

    • Crocheted, yes. I find it relaxing to make the little squares, then enjoy putting them together into my own jigsaw puzzle pictures. 🙂
      It’s nice feeling creative again, but now I need to learn how to stop the clock too. 🙂

  2. Beautiful work! I love the colours and patterns in the one for mum-in-law. I guess one could use stronger yarn to make a floor covering. I’d like to try that. I have a big stash of yarn – about time I used it 🙂

    • Thanks, Mum-in-Law chose her own colours. Her room is cream and she has black furnature (she’s not at all Grandmotherish in her decorating ideas). She has a rose-pink rug on the floor in front of the fire so I used the pink colour to make the design, then she added cream curtains with caramel coloured squares on them to the mix while I was half way through the throw and it was a natural progression to add the caramel colour to the throw as well.
      I tried to make it in a very carefully random pattern. I was pretty pleased with the result … and I think Mum-in-Law was too. 🙂

    • Oh, on another thought … my Mum bought a couple of rug kits to make her own rugs where she pulled the wool through a mesh-like backing to make the pattern displayed on a chart. She later crocheted her own mesh backing and used up all her odds and ends of wool to make herself another rug. Something to try with your stash of yarn maybe ? 🙂

    • Thanks, Mum-in-law has it folded in half over the back of her settee and has asked for a smaller one to drape over the back of the chair to match. So I guess she likes it too. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Progressive planning | Photographic Memories

  4. Pingback: Half way | Photographic Memories

Care to comment ?

