Carefully random

          This post started to be written on almost the last day of September 2013 but I wasn’t able to post it before Christmas without spoiling a surprise … and then I forgot to take a photo.

          I’d almost completed a throw for Middle Daughter for Christmas, it took a long time, and I put a lot of work into it, but I enjoyed making it since and every creation tells its own story here’s the story of the carefully random throw.

          The throw began it’s life after I’d made two baby blankets out of crocheted “Granny squares”.  I enjoyed making the squares and watching the blankets grow so decided to look around for something else to make. I had some cream and brown balls of wool left over from an age ago and started off with them.

          I really had no idea what it was going to look like at first.  I just made a couple of little squares the same size by counting how many trebles there were along each side.  There were four on the little ones.  Since I like numbers to be nice, the next ones were eight and twelve, and then I fixed them together into patterns to make larger squares of sixteen by sixteen.  This was the basic design.

          I added more colours, picked out from Middle Daughter’s decorating choices and contrasted light and dark in each large square, then started to fix the large squares together so that no same colour square touched another on the side or diagonal.  Here’s where it became a little tricky and needed very careful planning to carry on my “random” design.

          Eventually I had a throw big enough for two people to snuggle under on a cold evening at home watching films on tv.  I finished it off with a few rows around the outside and bungled it up ready to wrap for Christmas.

          Christmas Eve, which was our Christmas Day with the kids this year, my work was rewarded as I watched both Middle Daughter and Boyfriend sprawl across the settee under the throw during the evening.

          I have the carefully random throw back at our house at the moment, there’s a slight scag appeared on one of the squares so I’ll do a little bit of fixing and then put it through the washing machine to “set” the woolen stitches and make it less likely to scag again.

          While it’s here, I’ll take a photo.

2014-01. Carefully random.

14 thoughts on “Carefully random

    • Thanks. You were so right when you warned me there would be squares everywhere. 🙂
      And after making so many even I can see the difference between front and back now. 😀

  1. Wow, what a huge amount of work! It looks great! My wife labours on such things too. I love the word “scag” – to my it really fits in with all these hand crafted, intricate, handicraft sorts of things. Hope you’re fine, Sallyann! A 🙂

    • I hadn’t really thought about the word scag before, but yes it does sound right doesn’t it. 🙂
      I’ve pulled the scagged stitch back into the crocheting and the fixed throw is now drying ready to back to its home.

  2. Pingback: Pairs … and a plan | Photographic Memories

  3. Pingback: Half way | Photographic Memories

  4. Pingback: Accidental diagonal | Photographic Memories

Care to comment ?

