Broken glass

          This morning was forecast to be a real pea-souper of a fog so I took my camera along to work with me with the plan to wander and take a few eerie photos on the way home.

          Needless to say this didn’t happen, I had a text when I turned my phone on at lunch time saying there was glass in the garden and the rabbits were acting very frightened and aggressive.  Hubby had managed to persuade them into the safety of the hutch and run for bed but had not managed to check them out before they went in so I hurried home, not quite sure what to expect.

          A quick peep outside showed that the glass wasp-trap which was usually sitting on the table was in pieces on the floor (lots of pieces) so at least the puzzle of where the glass had come from was solved.  There’s a path which runs along the other side of the back fence and we were worried that someone had thrown a glass bottle over, accompanied with a bigger worry that they might have enjoyed doing it enough to do it again.  So the fact that one of the furries had just knocked the wasp-trap off was quite a relief.

          I had to wait for daylight to arrive properly before I could start sweeping up so Alice and Pepper stayed safely inside the hutch for a while longer.  After the clean-up I lifted the lid of the hutch and plucked Alice out quite easily to inspect her feet and undercarriage.  No problem there, another relief.  Pepper didn’t prove quite so easy to pluck out of the hutch, but eventually he gave in and let me catch him.  Another relief, no cut feet and a beautifully clean undercarriage.

          All’s well that ends well, when I checked again just now, Alice is sitting under the table, a favourite resting place of both bunnies, and Pepper has retreated back into the hutch, still feeling safer sleeping in the daytime inside.

          Since I didn’t manage to find some pea-soup pictures to share this morning, I’ll take you back to our weekend in Medway when I first realized the fog could be just a much fun as the sunshine.

40.

29.

           More from before : Goings on in “my garden” and pictures from a weekend in “Medway” in January 2012.

6 thoughts on “Broken glass

Care to comment ?

