R.I.P. Alice

          As you can imagine, this is not an easy post to write.

31-2011-07-31-eyelashes

          On 30th January 2014 it was Alice’s birthday, she was three years old.  Who could have known then that just two weeks later she would no longer be here.  We’ll never quite know what was wrong with her, but she stopped eating, she would have had her own reasons, but from then on it was a downhill spiral, with the end arriving at an alarming speed.

47. 2012-03-16.

          I was away in Cardiff, I’d travelled by train and was unable to get back until my return train ticket allowed me to travel.  When Alice didn’t come out of the hutch on Saturday morning and refused to eat even a treat, Hubby reacted with amazing foresight and took her straight to the vet.  It was unheard of for Alice to refuse food, let alone one of her favourite treats.

DSCF1561

          Rabbits have a very delicate and complicated digestive system, and although the vet couldn’t feel any blockage in her insides, they listened and said things didn’t quite sound right so immediately started her on medication to help sort out any problems.

2012-06. Alice tube.

          Alice had a “comfortable” night.  I guess comfortable is code for don’t really know, Hubby had a rubbish night at home alone, and poor Pepper spend his first night ever alone in our garden.  I woke up from “unpleasant” dreams (you don’t really need the details) at about 3.30 am and eventually phoned the vet at about 5.30am to ask how Alice was doing.

2012-04. Sheltered Alice.

          She had eaten some dandelions during the night, just one or two leaves, but enough to give us all hope.  She had passed water in the cage and we were all “waiting for poo” !

DSCF1832

          After the dandelions didn’t arrive at the other end, Alice was given an x-ray, there was no blockage, and no obvious reason for what was happening to her.  From here on Alice’s health took on an ever quickening downward spiral.

2012-03. Sleeping beauty.

          I visited the vet on Monday on the way home from the train.  They don’t know what caused Alice to stop eating, rabbit’s health in general is still very much a law unto itself.  Everything that we do know was used to give her every opportunity to recover, but she’s not in pain or any discomfort any longer.

ALICE

11 thoughts on “R.I.P. Alice

  1. Awwww. This is so sad. I’m sorry, Sallyann, for your loss of a good bunny friend. I feel almost as if I’ve lost a pet, too, having followed Alice’s adventures here on your blog. I hope she’s romping and hopping and enjoying lots of fresh, delicious greens in the afterlife. How is Pepper doing?

    • Thanks, Pepper finally came out of hiding to munch on some grass yesterday evening. He was very skittish without Alice there to encourage him and although he won’t come near me it was good to see him eating properly again.

  2. Oh dear, I’m very sorry to hear this, my friend. My experience is that we become bonded to our animals just as we are to other humans. Take good care of yourself. Is Pepper going to get another companion? Adrian

    • Thanks. I can’t believe how much this has all affected me. A slightly selfish, unfulfilled need to say goodbye isn’t helping. Pepper very much needs another companion but I’m not ready to replace Alice and although I could quite easily settle in a new friend for him this isn’t a good enough reason to take on a pet who in theory could be with us for the next eight to ten years, possibly longer.
      Plans are afoot though to give Pepper not just one, but two new companions in Middle Daughter’s garden.

Care to comment ?

