Douglas

          Living with Oxford at my doorstep means I’m very much in the centre of our island and have an almost limitless supply of pretty little chocolate-box villages to visit, but it also means I’m about as far from the seaside as I can be.  I grew up by the sea, and of course took it for granted that it was there.  Any visit to the seaside now has to be planned in advance, and is crammed as full as we can make it to bring back enough memories to last until the next time. 

          I find myself looking forward more and more to the time when I can just waste a visit to the beach, when I can just sit on a bench with my feet up on the railings, watching children building sandcastles or listening to the boats bobbing in the harbour.  “One day” when we move to “Weymouth” is still out there, and getting slowly closer and more realistic, but I find myself looking towards a very untapped file of around 200 photos of a trip to the “Isle of Man” for some salty air on the breeze today.

          I believe Douglas in the Isle of Man is one of the reasons Hubby likes Weymouth so much.  He spent many holidays as a child in the Isle of Man and has many fond memories.

2009-07. Douglas Prom

          Douglas is the main hub of the island, the first step of your holiday, arriving by ferry or by plane.  Take a stroll along the prom with me and enjoy the fresh air.  If you look closely, you can see the ferry to the far left of the picture, and to the right, you can catch a glimpse of one of part of the sunken gardens.

2009-07. Douglas - Sunken Gardens

          The sunken gardens go on for ages, a lovely stroll amongst beautifully kept flowerbeds .  The high wall cuts out any over zealous sea breezes on the one side, and enables you to easily forget the traffic on the other.  A wonderful place to while away a few hours with plenty of places to just sit and smell the roses.

          Weymouth prom has a very similar feel to it, the gardens are walled instead of sunken, and have nowhere as much grandeur, but I’ve often noticed Hubby smile as he catches sight of the clock on Weymouth prom, here’s the one I spotted in Douglas.

2009-07. Douglas - Clock

          Of course for me, the harbour has a stronger pull than the sand or the gardens, beautiful isn’t it.

2009-07. Douglas - Harbour

          I think for me, Weymouth would win this time, if I really had to choose. Slightly less perfect is more to my liking, although I don’t have the childhood Douglas memories to add to the adult visit and I’m guessing they might well tip the scale in one direction or the other.

           More from before : pictures and posts about our holiday in the “Isle of Man” in July 2009.

Care to comment ?

