Church windows

          I snap away quite happily with the camera, I compose pictures, I seek out different angles and very often go out on a limb (literally) to find the right shot, but it’s not very often I find myself presented with that “wow” moment just there in front of me with no effort, no searching on my part, just a long quiet wow exhaled under my breath as my brain takes in what my eyes have seen.

          While away at Falmouth, Hubby decided to take me on a trip to St Michael’s Mount, a castle on an island, just a little further around the coast.  The island, the castle, the harbour and the weather were perfect, and I’ll show you more of that shortly, but on such an island you must also have a church

          The church is small, and friendly, and very peaceful and pretty, but as I stepped into the semi-gloom from the bright sunlight outside, here’s the picture I saw.

2014-09. Eagle window.

          The sun was shining so brightly onto the stained glass window that it was making its own rainbows on the walls inside.

2014-09. Hymn window.

2014-09. Church window.

           More from before : a long weekend in “Falmouth“, September 2014.

9 thoughts on “Church windows

    • With a sharp intake of breath, imagine the scents of old stones and salt air, close your eyes and hold that thought for a second or two, then breath out the wow slowly under your breath as you open your eyes… you could almost be there. 🙂

    • Thanks, I liked the statue too, and considered cropping the second shot tighter, but liked the simple hymn number board so kept that too, I think it all had a little more contrast in my eyes than in the pictures, I was wearing sun glasses, but wasn’t brave enough to play with the contrast etc for fear of losing what I’d caught. 🙂

  1. Pingback: St. Michael’s mists | Photographic Memories

Care to comment ?

