Meet Harley

2014-12. Harley.

          When my birthday arrived earlier this year Hubby asked what I’d like for a present, since I’d reached one of those milestones where the birthday number ended in a zero, I had to think long and hard about what I’d like to commemorate it.  Eventually I asked for something I’d wanted for a long time, a saxophone.  It only took a little research to discover that the tenor sax is far too big for me to hold so not even an option, and even less research to discover we would almost need a second mortgage to get a decent one so I just carried on dreaming.

          Anyone who visits regularly will know how I feel about saxophone music, I could listen to it for ages, but as for my actual playing of the music, I’m afraid now everyone will be forced to either buy ear plugs or, hopefully, listen to me playing for ages instead as Hubby has put together my birthday and Christmas present and given me not just an Alto saxophone, but a whole caboodle of stands and books and things to go with it too, and since he announced to the world yesterday that he thinks this is part of my mid-life-crisis and my sax is the equivalent of my Harley Davidson motorbike, he’s inadvertently given me its name… Harley.

14 thoughts on “Meet Harley

  1. I absolutely love this, Hallysann! Why is it that somehow, to me, a saxophone is so very, very you???!!! And I love the name too! Wonderful!!!

    I wish you great joy and success with this new venture – I’ve always wanted to play a musical instrument myself, its a wonderful thing to be able to do, but I don’t think I’ve got the resolve to keep myself at it. But keep going you – and let us know how you’re getting on!

    Oh, and a very good 2015 to you both, too! Adrian 🙂

    • Thanks, I played the recorder in school (badly, and only to the first level) but it’s surprising what junk the old grey cells have stored away over the years.
      The written music seems quite familiar, but as for the puff… I’m obviously full of no where near as much hot air as Hubby tells me.
      … And 2015… Oh boy, already! 🙂

      • Well, now then, well, I mean, your Hubby does know you very well, doesn’t he … and if he sees you as having great reserves of the … gaseous stuff, well … I mean … frankly … well … frankly …………

  2. What a wonderful gift! May it bring many years of joy to you. And happy belated birthday, too! I hope the year ahead is truly your best yet. Cheers to you!

    • Thanks, Harley has taken up residence in the little front bedroom where no walls join nextdoor’s and I can close the door off to the rest of the world. The notes are coming along slowly, but it’s going to take me a long time to build up the muscles for enough puff. 😀

  3. Pingback: Lord of the dance | Photographic Memories

  4. Pingback: Rui Sax | Photographic Memories

Care to comment ?

