Day 1 – 5 day B&W challenge

          I’ve sort of taken up the challenge put forward by Aj at “Ouch my back hurts“.

          As Aj says …

                    There are only two rules for this challenge:

          1. On 5 consecutive days, create a post using either a past or recent photo in B&W.
          2. Each day invite another blog friend to join in the fun.

          I say sort of, because I seldom post for five days in a row, and not everyone likes to take part when they’re challenged so as is often the case, I will only very loosely be following the rules.

          Black and white, however, is very much a challenge to me, I crave colour, and although I’ve dabbled in a little black and white before and  have worked out the “how” of black and white, I’ve never quite understood the “why”.

2012-03-lillies-2

          The image I’ve chosen for the first of my five posts is one I’ve used before, I’ve taken it into my photo program and removed the colour, I guess I’m looking for contrast and detail, but I’m not sure so I’ve posted the colour version here too, maybe you can tell me what I’m looking for in a black and white photo, and possibly enlighten me as to the “why”.

          Seriously, I could do with a few tips  as to what I’m looking for here please.

2012-03. Lillies 2.

          I’ll add links here to my other four days of the black and white challenge here when I eventually do them, but in the meantime, drop over to see Sheila’s photos at “Imagery of Light” where she’s already taken up the B&W five day challenge from Aj.

15 thoughts on “Day 1 – 5 day B&W challenge

  1. Well, you could knock me over with a wet kipper!!! >>> the one thing I thought never to see in this hallowed and colourful Hallysann domain was black and white!!!!!!!!!!! I feel like going all Star Wars … “Sallyann … Sallyann … come to the Dark Side … it is your DESTINY …”.

    And what do I like about this post? Well I very much like the fact that you’ve tackled this challenge, and certainly admire you – its on a par with my attempting to knit, which I did once, with disastrous circumstances. And you’ve done better than me, because I turned the challenge down (mind you, being old and crusty, I don’t do challenges).

    And I absolutely LOVE your not exactly adhering to the rules, which is very, very you – great stuff!

    Sheila’s right, keep detail in the whites (for now at least), and look for shapes and textures. As a crude rule of thumb, get a photo you think might do, take it into black and white, and then make it darker and increase the contrast. Hope that’s helpful. A 🙂

    • Rules? Oh yes, I remember those.. 🙂
      I used to just bend the rules, but now I just pick out the ones I like – this sort of fits in nicely with the wearing of orange. 😀

      I dabbled in black and white a couple of years ago and picked up a few tips then, but I’ve never understood why anyone would want to take the colour out of any part of existence, let alone a photographic memory.

        • You really must stop using these long words in your comments, you’ve sent me off to Google again to find out what you said. Anarchical… Out of control ?

          • Well, not really out of control, more like disregarding all laws, rules and regulations – you’re in there somewhere aren’t you??? Long words? They’re quite commonly used … down our way … just like … antidisestablishmentarianism … 🙂 🙂 🙂 …..

  2. Pingback: Day 2 – 5 day B&W challenge | Photographic Memories

  3. What a great challenge! I think you did a fab job. I’m partial to color, too. The only time I use black & white is usually when I’m trying to save an image I overexposed. Black & white is a good way to bring out texture and contrast in some shots. I like your choice. It looks good both ways. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Day 3 – 5 day B&W challenge | Photographic Memories

  5. Pingback: Day 4 – 5 day B&W challenge | Photographic Memories

  6. Pingback: Black and White Photo Challenge #1 | breezes at dawn

Care to comment ?

