Day 3 – 5 day B&W challenge

          Again,

          There are only two rules for this challenge:

                     1. On 5 consecutive days, create a post using either a past or recent photo in B&W.
                     2. Each day invite another blog friend to join in the fun.

          And again, I’m not really following either of them but feel free to take up the challenge yourself and follow the rules if you so wish, or not as the case may be.

2011-09-baby-wool-ribbon bw.

          This time I’ve gone for the textures of a ball of wool and a reel of ribbon I bought to make a baby blanket for my first great niece.  The texture stands out quite well, but its a lot prettier in pink don’t you think ?

2011-09. Baby wool & ribbon.

          Drop over to see Susan at “Licht Years” if you’re in the mood for some more black and white photo, I’m sure she’d be happy to see you.

          In the meantime, take a look at my “Day 1” and “Day 2“, let me know if you have any suggestions, hints or tips to make them better and I’ll see what I can figure out for days four and five of this five-day challenge.

           More from before: A little peek further into the world that I’ve “Created“.

UPDATE …

          After Adrian’s comment about the contrast and brightness, I gave the black and white version a little more treatment in Photoshop, resulting in, I think, a little more texture …

2011-09-baby-wool-ribbon bw2.

          I couldn’t help wondering though, what the pink one would look like with the same treatment...

2011-09-baby-wool-ribbon 2.

          Any thoughts ?

7 thoughts on “Day 3 – 5 day B&W challenge

  1. With everything crossed … wow but its difficult breathing now … I have to admit that the pink version looks better … but try making the mono version darker and ramping up the contrast … and oh yes … long words … juxtaposition!!! ….. 🙂 …….

    • Pretty in pink.!!! 😀
      I’ve had another play with the original picture, the brightness and contrast as you suggested… But nope, the black and white still doesn’t do anything for me in this one.
      Strangely, neither does the re-treated colour version. Although pink isn’t really my colour, I’m much more of an orange type person
      😀

  2. Pingback: Day 4 – 5 day B&W challenge | Photographic Memories

  3. I think increasing the contrast and darkening helped bring out the texture in the B&W version beautifully. I like the way you composed it, too. I do like the color version (because, like you, I’m partial to color). The first color version has a softness to it that is missing in the second, although I can see more details in the second (including colors). In other words, I like ’em all. 🙂

    • Thanks Robin, I can see both the texture and the tones in both black and white versions, and the details and deeper colours in the altered colour version, but it is still the original which raises a smile as I remember the colours and feel of the wool and ribbon, the making of the baby blanket with it and the thought of it being used to keep the chill off my first great-niece. 🙂
      I guess the memories make all the difference . 😀

Care to comment ?

