R.I.P. John Ayles

          Whilst sitting at breakfast in the little B&B in Weymouth last weekend my mind wandered into one of the pictures on the wall, I was overlooking a small pebbled cove, hidden from view on both sides by higher ground.  The picture could have been of practically any quiet space along the coast, but I had feeling of being there before.

          On our second morning at breakfast I recognised it as a picture of the cove at Church Ope.

2016-04. Church Ope Cove.

          A while ago I posted about a visit to Church Ope and about the “Portland Pirates” who once lived there.

24-pirate-john-ayles

          “Here lieth the body of John Ayles”

          I decided when I wrote the post that I would return one day and scavenge a little more information from the other stones to see if I could work out more of the story of John Ayles.

          Unfortunately,  after surviving in a readable state for many many years, now the headstones, cleared of any possibly protecting greenery have been beaten by the salty weather until even the small amount of information I preserved has managed to evade capture.

          Rest in peace John Ayles.

2016-04. Castle.

          We made our way back up to the road and wandered past the closed Portland museum to Rufus Castle. Next time I’ll check the opening hours of the museum before I visit.

2016-04. Cove & Castle.

          We paused on the other side of the castle before returning to the car, maybe next time we’re here well arrive via the coastal path.

2016-04. Coast Path to Castletown.

         But if you are walking along this part of the coastal path one day and you come across this sign directing you towards the Portland museum, it might be worth a slight detour to check into the pirate headquarters hidden through the trees a short distance away

2016-04. Canoes in cove.

          More from before : various visits to “Weymouth” and “Portland“.

3 thoughts on “R.I.P. John Ayles

  1. How fortuitous that you had your camera along on a previous walk and captured John Ayles’ tombstone before the elements erased his epitaph! And thank you for taking us along on the rest of this fascinating walk, too. It looks like a truly amazing place.

    • Thanks Heather, glad you enjoyed the wander, and the stroll down memory lane. After my first visit I looked up the name in family tree research records, I was amazed at how many John Ayles had lived in Portland. I had hoped for some names or dates from the other stones but it would seem our John Ayles has finally taken his secrets to the grave with him.
      Unless of course, just one tiny little thread of hope, his story is hiding in the Portland museum. 😊

Care to comment ?

