Training to the summit

          And we’re off … Can you see the waterfall ?  You can reach it by foot from Llanberis. Apparently I’ve been there, but I can’t remember, and I can’t find any photos either.  I’ll have to go again next time so I can catch it with the camera.

11-waterfall

          As the train pulls away from the town and up towards the mountain top there’s not a walker in sight, plenty of sheep, and as we move along slowly I catch a glimpse of a wall or two.  I have a weakness for a strong stone wall.

13-view-from-train

          I spy a couple of walkers and their dogs, but who’s watching who ?  Is that Snowdon summit I spy in the distance.

12-sitting-spectators

          Apparently not, I’ve seated us on the wrong side of the carriage to see the summit from our window, thank goodness for long arms and camera viewing screens.

16-snowon-sumit-view

          Back to our window, maybe I should have sat on the other side, it seems they have the more spectacular views.  Although, I do like the reflections of the opposite windows on the glass.  Does that second window remind you of a slice of toast… or am I just feeling a tad hungry ?

17-bushes-through-window

          No, here’s the view I was hoping for,  the Llanberis Path where it goes underneath the train track.  How nice of the driver of our train to stop so that I can take a clear picture of it.

19-llanberis-path-crossunder

          We seem to have stopped for a lot longer than just one picture … it’s ok driver, you can go now.

          Ok, maybe not … maybe we’ll wait just a few more minutes … 

20-passing-train

          Off we go again, round the bend.  We’re hugging the mountain on the trainline, but can you see the walkers above us on the Llanberis Path … No toast in the reflections this time.

22-up-to-llanberis-path

          As the path and the trainline run along side each other, the summit comes into sight again, through our window this time.

23-see-the-sumit

          And then all of the sudden we’re here, everyone get out, we’ve arrived.

24-hunslet-seat

          Take a peek behind you as you get out, just to make sure you’ve not left anything.

25-smr-seating

          And here’s our engine, HUNSLET No.10 …

26-hunslet-no-10

         It’s all been over a little quick.  I mean, that was the idea really wasn’t it?  A quick trip to the top of the mountain with no more effort than climbing into a carriage. 

          Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the train ride – I always enjoy a train ride, steam train or otherwise – but I feel a little as if I cheated.  Not cheated at an exam or anything like that, definitely cheated my pocket out of the price of the ticket, but maybe I cheated myself to sort of an empty victory, standing on the top of a mountain without making any effort to get there.

          Maybe next time – and I’m not saying there will be a next time by the way – but maybe next time I’ll walk up again.  In the meantime, visit the shop, the café and the other facilities at the top, we’re on our way down next, via a much slower route … the miner’s track.

27-snowdon-platform-view

           More from before : posts about “Snowdon” and other walks in “Snowdonia“.

6 thoughts on “Training to the summit

    • Thanks Eliza. I’ve been up or down Snowdon in four very different ways now, I think I actually enjoyed all four… Its the couple of days after I don’t enjoy quotes much. 😊

  1. I love a good train ride, but have to agree that sometimes the view is better for having earned it. That said, there are some mountains I know I’m better off hitching a ride on a train to see the view from the top. Wonderful pictures, Sallyann. And yes, it did look like a slice of toast. 🙂

Care to comment ?

