Not holding my breath

img_20170211_175354

          Well, here I am camping out at my local Costa while two different sets, of strangers admire my house.

          Were back on the market for a move to Weymouth again and I use the word “admire” very tongue in cheek as I personally wouldn’t buy it.  To be fair to myself though, I am not the market we’re aiming at.  When we look at our perspective new home,  we’re looking to just move straight in, we’re willing to pay a little extra for any work which needs doing to have already been done, oh of course, I’ll be wanting to decorate, splash a little orange or yellow here or there, but that’s about it.

           Our house now was our first step onto the housing ladder and as first time buyers, with three young girls, we needed to look for location as much as a space to live in.  We could have bought smaller, cheaper houses on the other side of town, but our house was perfectly placed for what we needed, and at a price we could just about afford. We threw everything we had at getting it, and a little that we didn’t have, there was so much needing doing to it that they practically snapped our hand off when we offered the asking price (not really knowing any better) and after a “Rollercoaster ride” of emotions, eventually it was ours.

          We moved in and immediately the boiler was condemned.  This is how things continued for many years, someone had loved the house once, this showed in the odd special touch and expensive fitting which stil remained, but it was a very long time ago and since then it had been modernised with very bad diy skills, and let out to uncaring tenants, we had a lot of work to do to make the place inhabitable,  before we could even think of home improvements.

          I remember that first winter without the central heating, we set up little electric heaters here there and everywhere, we huddled under duvets watching TV of an evening and saved as much money as we could to have heating fixed for the following winter but when the damp set in and the wallpaper threatened to abandon the walls, we called on my Dad, (which is where I get my perfectionism from) we called on my Dad to come and help.

          Mum and Dad arrived for a few days, Dad set about the pipes, wires etc ready for the plumber to just arrive and attach the last connections, and Mum set about my huge pile of ironing in an attempt to get warm.

          After that we worked our way slowly through home improvements, and I very gradually put right so many of the bad diy jobs.  The girl’s friends would very often take a tour of the house to see what I’d changed since their last visit.

          That was almost eighteen years ago, and although the imagination and the know-how are still available, I just don’t think I have the energy to start again in a house that needs much more than just a little TLC.

          Our house now would suit an investor, or a first time buyer.  It’s starting to look a little tired here and there, and there are still more improvements which could be made.

          Our two first viewings are both first time buyers.  We don’t have a pink blossom view from the bedroom window which is when I realised I was “Sold” on the house, but I’m really hoping one of our first time buyers will take the plunge while I’m sitting here drinking coffee.

          I’ve got my fingers crossed… But I’m not holding my breath.

13 thoughts on “Not holding my breath

  1. Will keep my fingers crossed for you, too. I hope the perfect buyers come along for you. I know how it is to buy a house that needs work, and then hope to be able to sell it when it’s time to move on. Good luck! 🙂

    • Thanks Robin. I wish I had taken photos of the house when we first moved in, we’ve done so much to it, but that doesn’t show to anyone who doesn’t know, I must admit though, I’ve really enjoyed most of what we did. 😊

  2. All the best with your house move. Looking back at an old post of yours I see that in the distant past you moved out of MK. We moved out of that area (well, actually S Northants – up the A5 a few miles from MK) 15 months ago down into W Susses. The House that we left had been our DIY project from 30years previously – I mastered so many trades in the process and we said: ‘never again’. How nice it it to be out of a draughty Victorian house and now in a more modern and warmer house that we were able to move straight into with no work needed doing. Hope it all goes well for you.

    • We were in a brand new house in Middleton in Milton Keynes, so new that the end of our street hadn’t been built when we moved in. Even though our house now needed so much doing to it, I didn’t mind too much. It was ours. And as you say, it taught me so much.
      It would be nice not to “have to” fix things, but I can’t ever see me being able to stop tinkering here and there. 😊

  3. I am so crossing everything for you!! Your dream is in the making… that I feel!! Yes… go splash orange and yellow… and maybe just a drop of twenty purple! (Just for me!!)
    I’m waiting for the “new you” posts! Live on!! Let the first time buyers snap up a really loved property! I hope they will soon find out just how much love comes with that home!! 😉

    • Gracefully!?!?
      No, we can’t retire yet. However, there is a certain supermarket who, after starting with the intention of being just a Christmas temp, I appear to have stayed with for almost twenty years.
      During about the last fifteen at least, through thick and thin, my main reason for staying was to keep our dream alive with the possibility of a transfer to another store.

Care to comment ?

