Rabbiting

          I was rabbit sitting for Middle Daughter a couple of weekends ago. The little furry friends were exceptionally pleased to see me – the way to a rabbit’s heart is definitely via it’s stomach.

          Middle Daughter is very keen when it comes to the rabbit’s upkeep, reaping the rewards by having her rabbits, Finx in particular, living well into the little known territory of elderly rabbits at the vets.  Finx is as far as we know, the only survivor of the original litter from the pair of “female” rabbits belonging to Youngest Daughter – remember “Rabbitt” ?

39. 19.04.11

          A family photo from “Fluff bombs“, at a time which seems now to be long, long ago … 

1. 26.07.10

          When Middle Daughter moved house and Finx moved from being an indoor rabbit to living in a hutch in the garden, Middle got  her a “Husbunny”  from the rescue centre for company.

          This is Finx now, on the right and Tango on the left.

img_0331

          Remember “Pepper” ? … and “Alice” too ?  

2013-04-22. Alice & Pepper.

          Pepper came to live with Alice in our garden.  Middle persuaded me that Alice needed a companion and we already knew of Pepper who was bored and lonely as a kitchen rabbit so he came to live with Alice.  Everything in my garden was rosy until one weekend while I was away, Alice died.  Alice had so conditioned Pepper that I belonged to her and he wasn’t to approach without permission from her first that he wouldn’t come to me for consoling, he just sat at the back of the garden waiting for Alice to come home and very much afraid that he would die too, we re-homed him with Finx and Tango. 

2. Three friends.

          Everything went well for the first few months, we followed the rules of rabbit etiquette and introduced them into no man’s land… in their case… the bath, and eventually had all three bunnies living in the same hutch.

          That is until one day, Tango, who has a very much less than strong digestive system, had to spend a couple of nights stay over at the vets and Pepper made a move on Finx.  From the moment Tango came home he and Pepper fought over the one female, and over who was higher up in the “pecking order”. 

          I would like to say they fought like cat and dog, but at least that would have been easier to detect, they fought like rabbits, quite nastily when no one was looking and being rabbits, and being a prey animal, they hid their injuries and just carried on as nothing was wrong when being watched.  Of course, Middle Daughter noticed pretty early on that something was wrong and after both boy bunnies were taken to the vet for inspection they were separated. 

          Tango still sulked for a bit, but not for long and he and Finx settled back into the twosome relationship as it was before… And Pepper ?

          Well Middle Daughter is such a softie that she set Pepper up in his own empire on the other side of her garden and found him a partner at the rescue centre too… Doris.

          Here’s Pepper on the right with his female friend, Doris on the left.

img_0360

          All is well in the garden again, and everything is once again rosy.  Well, almost everything…

          My instructions for the weekend were written down in detail, I prefer it that way because then I don’t have to worry about remembering everything, and Middle Daughter doesn’t have to worry while she’s away that I’ll forget something.

          “Lola“, their cat is also used to me sitting for the weekend and knows that the first thing I do when I go in is consult the list which has been left on the table.  I’m now not allowed to read the book until I’ve played with Lola first… and how could I possibly resist.

img_0328

          More from before: a few of the “Furry Friends” who are part of the family.

2 thoughts on “Rabbiting

    • They are. I still miss having rabbits but I can smile when I think of them now. I think that Alice died while I was away was the worst part. Hubby did all he could. He took her straight to the vets when she stopped eating which is very often the only sign they give of being unwell.
      I did enjoy rabbit sitting for Middle Daughter’s rabbits though.

Care to comment ?

